Social InnovationTRANSIT

Social Innovation


TRANSIT (TRANsformative Social Innovation Theory) is an ambitious 4 year long research project that aims to develop a theory of transformative social innovation useful for academics and policy makers as well as practitioners. This will be achieved by studying how networks of social entrepreneurs and families of social innovation projects contribute to systemic societal change. Examples of case-studies include Living Knowledge science shops, time banks, Makerspaces and FabLabs, Transition Towns, eco-villages and energy cooperatives. TRANSIT studies how these phenomena operate through 20+ transnational networks across Europe and Latin America. A main research question is how people are (dis)empowered in contributing to systemic change in the context of a rapidly changing world that faces ‘game changing’ developments such as e.g. economic crises, climate change and the ICT-revolution.

TRANSIT is a EC-funded (FP7) research initiative, responding to the call for research on “Social Innovation – empowering people, changing societies?”. The project began on the 1st of January 2014 and will run for 4 years until the end of 2017. A consortium of twelve partners coming from European as well as South American countries (Brazil, Argentina) is involved in the TRANSIT project with DRIFT (Erasmus University Rotterdam, the Netherlands) being the overall project coordinator. Please see below the overview of all the partners involved:

    DRIFT (Coordinator) – Erasmus University of Rotterdam, the Netherlands

    3S-group – University of East Anglia, United Kingdom

    ICIS – University of Maastricht, the Netherlands

    IHS – Erasmus University of Rotterdam, the Netherlands

    ULB-CEDD – Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium

    AAU – Aalborg University, Denmark

    SPRU – University of Sussex, United Kingdom

    IEC-UNQ – Universidad Nacional de Quilmes, Argentina

    COPPE – Rio de Janeiro Federal University, Brasil

    People-Environment Research Group – Universidade da Coruna, Spain

    BOKU –  University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Vienna, Austria

    ESSRG – research and development SME, Hungary